Eye On Romance
Search our Site
Community Network
Featured Authors
Contact Us/ Advertising
Follow Us

Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser

Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser
Advertise here

  Add To Site (Free)  

Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser
Click here to learn more!

Eye On Romance
Featured Author
Ann Major

Meet Eye On Romance Featured  Author Ann Major
Marriage at the Cowboy's Demand
Book Reviewer Login
Your Email:


Forgot Password?
Not a reviewer? Sign up now!

Book Review
Deeper Than Midnight

Overall: 9
Sensuality: 8
Sub-Genre: 8

Buy at Amazon.com! Buy from Barnes & Noble!

This is an Official Review by an Eye On Romance Official Reviewer

Review for Deeper Than Midnight
Author: Lara Adrian
Date of Review: 06/17/11
Reviewed by: Official Reviewer for Eye On Romance

Reviewer Comments:

In Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed series, she brings to life a whole new set of vampires. The vampires are split into two clans with different agendas and dealings with the human race. In the ninth novel in her series, the hunt for Dragos, a vampire who wants to rule the world and keep humans as food, continues. He is on the loose and no one is sure just where he is.

Hunter uses to be one of Dragos’ assassins. He knows how the man thinks and the lengths he will go to in order to create assassins. Hunter is painfully aware that Dragos cares for no one other than himself. Hunter is unique in that he is Gen One, born from one of the original vampires. Hunter must use his unique talents to help protect Corinne, one of the women rescued from Dragos, and to hunt the fiend down.

Corinne Bishop is a Breedmate. She was kidnapped by Dragos when she was eighteen. She spent the next 75 years being tortured and raped by this monster and his minions. When she is rescued by the Order, she knows that she will not rest until she gets her revenge on the man who destroyed her life. Corinne also has another secret. One that she will do anything to protect. When she has to rely on Hunter for her safety, Corinne questions whether or not she can also trust him with her secret.

The sparks fly between Corinne and Hunter almost immediately. Their shared pasts with Dragos help them to understand what the other has gone through and to begin to trust. Ms. Adrian handles the recovery from a traumatic experience well. She doesn’t sugarcoat what happened to Corinne and make her suddenly forget all the torture she endured simply because she is attracted to a man. These two people have to work hard at building something that will last. Things don’t come easy.

Ms. Adrian’s books are definitely part of a series and as she does so well, she blends in the main character from the next book with this one. At the same time we are seeing the relationship between Corinne and Hunter develop, we also see Sterling Chase start to lose his mind to Bloodlust. He plays a role in this story, but we are going to have to wait until the next book to find out what happens with him.

Although I understand why Ms. Adrian does this and it certainly helps the books feed into one another, it is difficult to pick up a book in the middle of her series. You need to read these books in order. The background of the Order and who the characters are is so important to each successive novel that without that information, you feel as though you are missing pages of the book. Ms. Adrian doesn’t have time to build all the background you need for a complete understanding of the story.

I did enjoy this book and thought that the action moved swiftly. There were few slow moments in the book and I want to read the next one to learn what happens to Chase and the other characters.

Submit your own review for this book!



Search Eye On Romance Network

Dediated Banner

  Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser